Tesla Model Y battery: capacity and degradation

The Model Y battery holds about 57 to 79 kWh usable, depending on version, in LFP and NMC packs. Below: the capacity of each version, then its degradation in published figures.

By Battery Figures. Updated . The degradation figures link to their sources.

Model Y battery capacity by version

Model Y battery by version: years, usable capacity, chemistry and cell maker
VersionYearsGenerationUsable kWhChemistryCell maker
Standard Range (2021, Fremont)2020 to 2021Original
Long Range AWD / Long Range RWD (Shanghai / Berlin)2020 to 2025Original70 to 75NMCLG
Long Range AWD (Fremont / Austin)2020 to 2025Original75
Performance (Shanghai / Berlin)2020 to 2025Original75NMCLG
Performance (Fremont / Austin)2020 to 2025Original75 to 76
All-Wheel Drive (4680 structural pack, Austin)2022 to 2023Original57 to 67.5
RWD LFP (Shanghai)2022 to 2025Original57LFPCATL
RWD LFP (Berlin, CATL or BYD)2022 to 2025Original57LFP
Long Range AWD / Long Range RWD (Berlin / Shanghai)2025Juniper75NMCLG
RWD (Standard) LFP (Berlin / Shanghai)2025 to 2026Juniper63.3LFPCATL
Premium AWD / Premium Long Range AWD / Performance (Berlin / Shanghai)2025 to 2026Juniper79NMCLG
Premium Rear-Wheel Drive (Berlin / Shanghai)2025 to 2026Juniper63.3LFP
Standard (Berlin)2025 to 2026Juniper60LFPCATL
Model Y L (six seat, Shanghai)2025 to 2026JuniperNMCLG

Usable kWh is what public EV databases list, as of October 2026; where they differ the table shows the lowest and highest. For the rear-wheel-drive packs with measured cars the figure is the one Tesla's own readings imply. Tesla does not state usable capacity, so the kWh are estimates: treat each figure as approximate. A blank cell means no source states it. How we read these figures: methodology.

Model Y battery degradation

Tesla reports 85% left after about 200 000 miles for Long Range cars with 2170 cells, Model 3 and Model Y together; independent tests in 2026 found 90.3% for the Model Y at 93 205 miles. Published figures only, each with its source and year. The same figures for every model, and how they were read, are in Tesla battery degradation by model.

Model Y battery capacity left, published figures with source and year
MeasureValueWhat it says
Source: Tesla, 2023 Impact Report (published May 2024)
Model 3 & Y Long Range, capacity left85% at 200 000 milesModel 3 and Model Y Long Range (2170 cells) keep 85% of original capacity after about 200 000 miles, reported together.
Model 3 & Y fleet above 80% capacity68% at 200 000 milesAbout 68% of the Model 3 and Model Y Long Range fleet stays above 80% at that distance.
Source: Large independent used-EV battery study · 2026
Model Y, battery health94.4% at 31 069 milesModel Y at 50 000 km (31 069 miles): 94.4%.
Model Y, battery health90.3% at 93 205 milesModel Y at 150 000 km (93 205 miles): 90.3%.
Best vs worst example of one car13.5 percentage pointsThe best and worst examples of the same car can differ by as much as 13.5 percentage points.
Illustration Capacity left against miles driven for the Model Y, from the points in the table. Only the points are published numbers, from different studies; the line between them is our drawing.

What to check on a used Model Y

  • Match the version. Capacity differs a lot between Model Y versions (see the table): check the exact version and year in the car’s documents, not only the listing.
  • Ask which battery it has. Some versions have LFP packs, others nickel packs. For some versions the factory in the VIN (its 11th character) tells them apart, and the table names the factory; otherwise ask for the car’s documents.
  • Set age and mileage against the published figures. A car far below them is a reason to ask for a fresh reading and to negotiate.
  • Ask how it was charged: mostly at home or often at fast chargers, and whether it sat at a full charge for long. These habits tend to be tied to faster wear.
  • Ask for service records, especially any work on the battery or high-voltage system, and what warranty remains.

Common questions

How big is the Model Y battery?

Depending on version, about 57 to 79 kWh usable. Tesla does not state usable capacity: these are estimates from public EV databases and, for some packs, from the readings Tesla gives for real cars, as of October 2026. The table lists each version.

Does the Model Y have an LFP battery?

Some versions do. The Model Y has been sold with LFP and NMC packs, and the table shows which version has which. For some versions the factory in the VIN (its 11th character) tells the chemistry apart, and the table names the factory; otherwise confirm it from the car’s documents.

How much battery capacity does a Model Y lose?

Tesla reports 85% left after about 200 000 miles for Long Range cars with 2170 cells, Model 3 and Model Y together; independent tests in 2026 found 90.3% for the Model Y at 93 205 miles. These are averages for groups: one car can sit above or below them.

Can I check the battery of a used Model Y?

Yes. Enter its VIN and read Tesla’s own estimate for that car: state of health, capacity in kWh and the date the car reported it. Some cars have no estimate yet, and then we say so.