Tesla Model X battery: capacity and degradation

The Model X battery holds about 58.5 to 98.4 kWh usable, depending on version, in NCA packs. Below: the capacity of each version, then its degradation in published figures.

By Battery Figures. Updated . The degradation figures link to their sources.

Model X battery capacity by version

Model X battery by version: years, usable capacity, chemistry and cell maker
VersionYearsGenerationUsable kWhChemistryCell maker
60D (software-limited 75 pack)2016 to 2017Original58.5 to 62.4NCAPanasonic
90D / P90D2016 to 2017Original81.8NCAPanasonic
75D2016 to 2019Original72.6NCAPanasonic
100D / P100D2016 to 2019Original95 to 98.4NCAPanasonic
Long Range / Performance2019 to 2020Raven95NCAPanasonic
Long Range Plus / Performance2021Raven92.2 to 98NCAPanasonic
Long Range / Dual Motor / Plaid / All-Wheel Drive2021 to 2026Palladium92.2 to 95NCAPanasonic

Usable kWh is what public EV databases list, as of October 2026; where they differ the table shows the lowest and highest. For the rear-wheel-drive packs with measured cars the figure is the one Tesla's own readings imply. Tesla does not state usable capacity, so the kWh are estimates: treat each figure as approximate. A blank cell means no source states it. How we read these figures: methodology.

Model X battery degradation

Tesla reports 88% of the original capacity left after about 200 000 miles, for Model S and Model X together. Published figures only, each with its source and year. The same figures for every model, and how they were read, are in Tesla battery degradation by model.

Model X battery capacity left, published figures with source and year
MeasureValueWhat it says
Source: Tesla, 2023 Impact Report (published May 2024)
Model S & X, capacity left88% at 200 000 milesModel S and Model X keep 88% of original capacity after about 200 000 miles (322 000 km), reported together.
Source: Tesla, 2022 Impact Report (published April 2023)
Model S & X, capacity left (read from chart)95% at 50 000 milesRead from Tesla’s chart of Model S/X battery retention per distance: about 95% at 50 000 miles (±1).
Model S & X, capacity left (read from chart)93% at 100 000 milesRead from the same chart: about 93% at 100 000 miles (±1).
Model S & X, capacity left (read from chart)91% at 150 000 milesRead from the same chart: about 91% at 150 000 miles (±1).
Illustration Capacity left against miles driven for the Model X, from the points in the table. Only the points are published numbers; the line between them is our drawing.

What to check on a used Model X

  • Match the version. Capacity differs a lot between Model X versions (see the table): check the exact version and year in the car’s documents, not only the listing.
  • Ask whether the pack is software-limited. The table marks early versions sold with a larger pack limited by software; get the answer in writing.
  • Set age and mileage against the published figures. A car far below them is a reason to ask for a fresh reading and to negotiate.
  • Ask how it was charged: mostly at home or often at fast chargers, and whether it sat at a full charge for long. These habits tend to be tied to faster wear.
  • Ask for service records, especially any work on the battery or high-voltage system, and what warranty remains.

Common questions

How big is the Model X battery?

Depending on version, about 58.5 to 98.4 kWh usable. Tesla does not state usable capacity: these are estimates from public EV databases and, for some packs, from the readings Tesla gives for real cars, as of October 2026. The table lists each version.

Which battery chemistry does the Model X use?

Every version in the table with a known chemistry uses NCA cells, made by Panasonic. No version is listed with LFP.

How much battery capacity does a Model X lose?

Tesla reports 88% of the original capacity left after about 200 000 miles, for Model S and Model X together. These are averages for groups: one car can sit above or below them.

Can I check the battery of a used Model X?

Yes. Enter its VIN and read Tesla’s own estimate for that car: state of health, capacity in kWh and the date the car reported it. Older Model S and Model X often have no estimate from Tesla, and then we say so.