Tesla Model 3 battery: capacity and degradation
The Model 3 battery holds about 49 to 79 kWh usable, depending on version, in LFP, NCA and NMC packs. Below: the capacity of each version, then its degradation in published figures.
Model 3 battery capacity by version
| Version | Years | Generation | Usable kWh | Chemistry | Cell maker |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long Range / Performance (Fremont) | 2017 to 2020 | Original | 70 to 73.5 | NCA | Panasonic |
| Mid Range (Fremont) | 2018 to 2019 | Original | |||
| Standard Range Plus (Fremont) | 2019 to 2020 | Original | 49 | NCA | Panasonic |
| Standard Range (without Plus, Fremont) | 2019 to 2020 | Original | |||
| Standard Range Plus (Fremont) | 2021 | Original | 51 | NCA | Panasonic |
| SR+ / RWD LFP CATL (Shanghai, Fremont) | 2021 to 2023 | Original | 57 | LFP | CATL |
| Long Range AWD / Performance (Fremont) | 2021 to 2023 | Original | 76 to 77 | NCA | Panasonic |
| Long Range / Performance (Shanghai) | 2021 to 2023 | Original | 72 to 75 | NMC | LG |
| RWD LFP CATL | 2024 to 2025 | Highland | 63.3 | LFP | CATL |
| Long Range AWD / Long Range RWD (Shanghai) | 2024 to 2025 | Highland | 75 | NMC | LG |
| Performance (Shanghai) | 2024 to 2025 | Highland | 75 | NMC | LG |
| Performance / Premium AWD (Shanghai) | 2025 to 2026 | Highland | 79 | NMC | LG |
| Standard (RWD, LFP CATL 6M, Shanghai) | 2026 | Highland | 60 | LFP | CATL |
| Long Range (MY2026, Shanghai) | 2026 | Highland | 79 | NMC | LG |
Usable kWh is what public EV databases list, as of October 2026; where they differ the table shows the lowest and highest. For the rear-wheel-drive packs with measured cars the figure is the one Tesla's own readings imply. Tesla does not state usable capacity, so the kWh are estimates: treat each figure as approximate. A blank cell means no source states it. How we read these figures: methodology.
Model 3 battery degradation
Tesla reports 85% left after about 200 000 miles for Long Range cars with 2170 cells, Model 3 and Model Y together; independent tests in 2026 found 88.9% for the Model 3 at 93 205 miles. Published figures only, each with its source and year. The same figures for every model, and how they were read, are in Tesla battery degradation by model.
| Measure | Value | What it says |
|---|---|---|
| Source: Tesla, 2023 Impact Report (published May 2024) | ||
| Model 3 & Y Long Range, capacity left | 85% at 200 000 miles | Model 3 and Model Y Long Range (2170 cells) keep 85% of original capacity after about 200 000 miles, reported together. |
| Model 3 & Y fleet above 80% capacity | 68% at 200 000 miles | About 68% of the Model 3 and Model Y Long Range fleet stays above 80% at that distance. |
| Source: Large independent used-EV battery study · 2026 | ||
| Model 3, battery health | 93.8% at 31 069 miles | Model 3 at 50 000 km (31 069 miles): 93.8%. |
| Model 3, battery health | 88.9% at 93 205 miles | Model 3 at 150 000 km (93 205 miles): 88.9%. |
| Best vs worst example of one car | 13.5 percentage points | The best and worst examples of the same car can differ by as much as 13.5 percentage points. |
| Source: Battery tests of used cars, Sweden · 2026 | ||
| Model 3 battery health, CATL LFP | 93.3% above 62 000 miles | CATL LFP 93.3% (Model 3 cars above 100 000 km). |
| Model 3 battery health, LG nickel (NMC) | 91.5% above 62 000 miles | LG nickel (NMC) 91.5%. |
| Model 3 battery health, Panasonic 77.8 kWh NCA | 89.8% above 62 000 miles | Panasonic 77.8 kWh NCA 89.8%. |
| Model 3 battery health, Panasonic 52.4 kWh NCA | 88.2% above 62 000 miles | Panasonic 52.4 kWh NCA 88.2%. |
What to check on a used Model 3
- Match the version. Capacity differs a lot between Model 3 versions (see the table): check the exact version and year in the car’s documents, not only the listing.
- Ask which battery it has. Some versions have LFP packs, others nickel packs. For some versions the factory in the VIN (its 11th character) tells them apart, and the table names the factory; otherwise ask for the car’s documents.
- Set age and mileage against the published figures. A car far below them is a reason to ask for a fresh reading and to negotiate.
- Ask how it was charged: mostly at home or often at fast chargers, and whether it sat at a full charge for long. These habits tend to be tied to faster wear.
- Ask for service records, especially any work on the battery or high-voltage system, and what warranty remains.
Common questions
How big is the Model 3 battery?
Depending on version, about 49 to 79 kWh usable. Tesla does not state usable capacity: these are estimates from public EV databases and, for some packs, from the readings Tesla gives for real cars, as of October 2026. The table lists each version.
Does the Model 3 have an LFP battery?
Some versions do. The Model 3 has been sold with LFP, NCA and NMC packs, and the table shows which version has which. For some versions the factory in the VIN (its 11th character) tells the chemistry apart, and the table names the factory; otherwise confirm it from the car’s documents.
How much battery capacity does a Model 3 lose?
Tesla reports 85% left after about 200 000 miles for Long Range cars with 2170 cells, Model 3 and Model Y together; independent tests in 2026 found 88.9% for the Model 3 at 93 205 miles. These are averages for groups: one car can sit above or below them.
Can I check the battery of a used Model 3?
Yes. Enter its VIN and read Tesla’s own estimate for that car: state of health, capacity in kWh and the date the car reported it. Some cars have no estimate yet, and then we say so.