Tesla Model S battery: capacity and degradation
The Model S battery holds about 58.5 to 98.4 kWh usable, depending on version, in NCA packs. Below: the capacity of each version, then its degradation in published figures.
Model S battery capacity by version
| Version | Years | Generation | Usable kWh | Chemistry | Cell maker |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 kWh (software-limited 60 pack) | 2012 to 2013 | Original | |||
| 60 (hardware 60 pack) | 2012 to 2015 | Original | 58.5 | NCA | Panasonic |
| 85 / 85D / P85 / P85+ / P85D | 2012 to 2016 | Original | 77.5 to 80.8 | NCA | Panasonic |
| 70 / 70D | 2015 to 2016 | Original | 65.9 to 68.8 | NCA | Panasonic |
| 90 / 90D / P90D | 2015 to 2017 | Original | 81.8 | NCA | Panasonic |
| 60 / 60D (software-limited 75 pack) | 2016 to 2017 | Original | 58.5 to 62.4 | NCA | Panasonic |
| 75 / 75D | 2016 to 2019 | Original | 72.6 | NCA | Panasonic |
| 100D / P100D | 2016 to 2019 | Original | 95 to 98.4 | NCA | Panasonic |
| Long Range / Performance | 2019 to 2020 | Raven | 95 | NCA | Panasonic |
| Long Range Plus / Performance | 2021 | Raven | 92.6 to 98 | NCA | Panasonic |
| Long Range / Dual Motor / Plaid / All-Wheel Drive | 2021 to 2026 | Palladium | 92.3 to 95 | NCA | Panasonic |
Usable kWh is what public EV databases list, as of October 2026; where they differ the table shows the lowest and highest. For the rear-wheel-drive packs with measured cars the figure is the one Tesla's own readings imply. Tesla does not state usable capacity, so the kWh are estimates: treat each figure as approximate. A blank cell means no source states it. How we read these figures: methodology.
Model S battery degradation
Tesla reports 88% of the original capacity left after about 200 000 miles, for Model S and Model X together. Published figures only, each with its source and year. The same figures for every model, and how they were read, are in Tesla battery degradation by model.
| Measure | Value | What it says |
|---|---|---|
| Source: Tesla, 2023 Impact Report (published May 2024) | ||
| Model S & X, capacity left | 88% at 200 000 miles | Model S and Model X keep 88% of original capacity after about 200 000 miles (322 000 km), reported together. |
| Source: Tesla, 2022 Impact Report (published April 2023) | ||
| Model S & X, capacity left (read from chart) | 95% at 50 000 miles | Read from Tesla’s chart of Model S/X battery retention per distance: about 95% at 50 000 miles (±1). |
| Model S & X, capacity left (read from chart) | 93% at 100 000 miles | Read from the same chart: about 93% at 100 000 miles (±1). |
| Model S & X, capacity left (read from chart) | 91% at 150 000 miles | Read from the same chart: about 91% at 150 000 miles (±1). |
What to check on a used Model S
- Match the version. Capacity differs a lot between Model S versions (see the table): check the exact version and year in the car’s documents, not only the listing.
- Ask whether the pack is software-limited. The table marks early versions sold with a larger pack limited by software; get the answer in writing.
- Set age and mileage against the published figures. A car far below them is a reason to ask for a fresh reading and to negotiate.
- Ask how it was charged: mostly at home or often at fast chargers, and whether it sat at a full charge for long. These habits tend to be tied to faster wear.
- Ask for service records, especially any work on the battery or high-voltage system, and what warranty remains.
Common questions
How big is the Model S battery?
Depending on version, about 58.5 to 98.4 kWh usable. Tesla does not state usable capacity: these are estimates from public EV databases and, for some packs, from the readings Tesla gives for real cars, as of October 2026. The table lists each version.
Which battery chemistry does the Model S use?
Every version in the table with a known chemistry uses NCA cells, made by Panasonic. No version is listed with LFP.
How much battery capacity does a Model S lose?
Tesla reports 88% of the original capacity left after about 200 000 miles, for Model S and Model X together. These are averages for groups: one car can sit above or below them.
Can I check the battery of a used Model S?
Yes. Enter its VIN and read Tesla’s own estimate for that car: state of health, capacity in kWh and the date the car reported it. Older Model S and Model X often have no estimate from Tesla, and then we say so.